Get Great Deals On Your Maldives Trip. Up to 40% OFF!
Written by Akshaya Devi on July 6, 2020 Share on

UK opens quarantine-free travel corridors for 59 countries

The United Kingdom unlocks quarantine-free travel to and from 59 countries starting July 10, with a red list of countries that will still have restrictions in place.

The British government puts the immobilizing quarantine to end by implementing travel corridors to less-risk countries that allow holidaymakers in England and 59 countries including Germany, Italy, Greece and Spain travel to each other’s countries. The best part being no self-imposed quarantine upon arrival at the destination.

Quarantine Exemption Rules

The statement released by the UK government reads “From 10 July 2020, unless visited or stopped in any other country or territory in the preceding 14 days, travellers arriving from the countries listed in the exemption list will not be required to self-isolate on arrival into England“. The list comprises 59 countries including Australia, Croatia, France, and Italy, and the United States is not included in the list. This applies to all means of transport travellers use to reach England—by air, road and ferries.

Please note that if you are travelling from or been to any of the countries that are not on the travel corridors exemption list, you will have to undergo 14-day mandatory quarantine after reaching England.

And for travelling out of England? You will have to abide by the destination country’s safety guidelines and self-isolate yourself if need be. The UK government is in talks with many other international consulates and travel partners to expand the corridor list as soon as it’s safe.

Read more: Is e-pass required for air travel? How to apply for an e-pass online?

#KeepingUpWithCOVID-19: Check out the latest travel news to learn how travel is changing during COVID-19.

Related Itineraries